Agricultural Extension Department was established during 1965-66 as a common discipline for both Veterinary and Agricultural faculties at the extension wing of the College of Veterinary Science in the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh Agricultural University and was integrated with the extension wing of S.V. Agricultural College from 1-2-1967. The post-graduate courses in Agricultural Extension leading to M.Sc. (Ag.) were introduced during 1976-77, and Ph.D. was introduced during 2008-2009. The important objectives of this Department are to offer undergraduate and post-graduate courses in Agricultural Extension to the students of Agriculture in an effort to inculcate and train them in extension philosophy techniques and methods, to conduct departmental research on selected topics related to the field of agricultural extension, assisting and participating actively in programs for B.Sc. (Ag.) students, and to train the undergraduates and postgraduates for the duties they would be called upon to perform as Extension Officers in the rural development. The staff of the department assists in the organization of seminars, conferences, workshops, village adoption program, etc.,

Staffing pattern:

The Department has five teaching posts consisting of one Professor (Direct), One Associate Professor (Direct) and three Assistant Professors. Besides, four non-teaching posts like two Artist-cum-Photographers, one Record Assistant and one Office Subordinate are also attached to the department.

The Department offers five courses of 10 credits to the students of B.Sc.(Hons) Agriculture, eight courses of 15 credits along with 20 research credits to the students of M.Sc.(Ag.) and six courses of 16 credits along with 45 research credits to Ph.D. students. So far 127 students were awarded M.Sc. (Ag.) degree and 3 students were awarded the Ph.D. degree.

The important areas of research undertaken by the department are adoption and diffusion process, training and development, training and visit system, audio-visual aids, Farm Radio programs, demonstrations, rural youth activities, ICTs, climate resilience agriculture, agricultural finance, extension, and rural development programs.


The extension activities mainly include training programs to the farmers and extension personnel in production technologies, village adoption program, the conduct of meetings, seminars, conferences, college activities, functions, etc.

Heads of the department:

S.No. Heads of the department Period
Dr. K. Jayarama Reddy Aug. 1966 to Jan. 1967
Dr. K. Venkat Reddy Feb. 1967 to Sept. 1967
Dr. M.G. Vasantha Rao Oct. 1967 to March 1971
Dr. I. Reddi Babu March 1971 to December 1972
K. Dr. K.Venkata Reddy December 1972 to April 1976
Dr. K. Jayarama Reddy May 1976 to June 1977
Dr. I. Reddi Babu June 1977 to June 1981
Dr. Ch. Satyanarayana July 1981 to May 1982
Dr. I. Reddi Babu June 1982 to December 1984
Dr. Ch. Satyanarayana January 1985 to June 1986
Dr. K. Jayarama Reddy 1986 -1989
Dr. (Smt.) AshaM.Bhave 1989 -1992
Dr. B.Lakshmi Reddy 1992 -1999
Dr. P: Daivadeenam 1999 -2001
Dr. D.Ramachandra Reddy 2001 – 2003
Dr. T.PrabhakaraSastry 2003-2010
Dr. S.V.Prasad 2010- Till date


Our Staff

Dr. T.Lakshmi M.Sc.(Ag.), Ph.D.



Research Methodology,

Stress Management,

Human Resource Management,

Instructional Technology

Mobile: 9392340148


Dr. Venna Sailaja M.Sc.(Ag.), Ph.D.

Assistant Professor


Human Resource Development,


Mobile: 9440183459



Assistant Professor


ICT’s, Farmers Organisations, FPO’s

Mobile: 9490418752